Rules Engine - Editing Rules
Once Rules have been created in Linnworks, they can be edited and changed in a number of ways. They can be Disabled/Enabled, they can have the sequence of rules changed and the Actions and Conditions in the Rules can be changed.
Table of Contents
- When Disabled, the slider will be to the left, and the slider will have a light background.
- When Enabled, the slider will be to the right, with a dark background
- Enabled Rules will only be run on orders that are marked as Paid.
- The rule will run when the order status changes to Paid.
- To enable/disable a condition, you must first Edit it using the Pencil icon.
- In the Edit Rule window, click on the spanner icon of the condition to enable modification.
- This will open a pop out menu of icons.
- Toggle the Slider to Enable or Disable the condition.
- If the slider is to the right, with a dark background, it is Enabled. If it is to the left with a light background, it is Disabled.
- A Disabled Condition is greyed out to show it's state.
- When a Rule is run, a Disabled Condition will be bypassed. The following Action or Condition will be acted upon instead.
- Rules are executed in sequence, from top to bottom of the list. They each have a number in the Order column, and execute from lowest to highest number.
- To the right of the Rule name is a cluster of buttons. Two of these are upward and downward arrows. These can be used to move the Rule up and down the list.
- Conditions can be moved within the tree, taking their associated actions and sub-conditions with them.
- To move a condition within a Rule, you must first Edit the Rule, using the Pencil icon.
- Locate the condition you wish to move, and click on the Spanner icon.
- In the pop-up menu, select the Move Up or Move Down arrow as appropriate.
- The condition, along with any Actions or Sub-conditions that are dependent upon it, will be moved within the condition.
- Copying a rule will create a new rule that is an exact duplication of the original rule.
- To the right of the Rule name is a cluster of buttons. One of these buttons is marked with 2 sheets of paper. This can be used to make a copy of the current rule. ..png
- The new rule will need to be given a unique name.
- Copy this Condition only
- Copy the Condition AND the Associated SubConditions
- Copy the Condition, sub-conditions AND the associated Actions
- Cancel. Cancel will not make any changes.
- Deleting a rule will delete it completely. There is no Undo function.
- To the right of the Rule name is a cluster of buttons. The button furthest to the right is marked with a bin, and is used to delete rules when they are no longer required.
- Once deleted, a Condition or Action cannot be recovered unless you discard all changes to the rule without saving. It will also delete Actions and Sub-conditions below it on the tree.
- To remove a condition within a Rule, you must first Edit the Rule, using the Pencil icon.
- Locate the condition you wish to remove, and click on the Spanner icon.
- In the pop-up menu, select the Delete Icon.