Users

The Users screen, accessed via Settings > User Management, enables to add, edit and remove users that can log into a Linnworks account and manage their permissions in the system.

NB! Only the Account Owner and Admin users have access to User Management in Linnworks.

User types

Use the search bar to find a specific user on the list or sort the order of all added users with the Sort by option, which allows you to order the displayed list in three ways:

  • Recommended - displays the list by Account Owner first, then Admin users in alphabetical order by email and regular Users in alphabetical order by email.
  • Email - displays all users in alphabetical order by email. Use the arrow icons to switch between A-to-Z and Z-to-A order.
  • User type - displays the list in alphabetical order first by user type, then email. Use the arrow icons to switch between A-to-Z and Z-to-A order of the user type.

Adding users

  1. Go to Settings > User Management > Users.
  2. Click on  + Add New  
  3. Enter the email address of the user.
  4. Click on Confirm.

add user

The entered email address will receive a notification email that they have been added as a user. If they do not already have a password assigned i.e. they have never accessed Linnworks.net with the email, the message will include instructions for creating a password.

Managing users

Each user visible in the Users screen displays three options at the end of the entry line to manage the user's permissions or delete the user. All three options are greyed out and not accessible on the Account Holder line and for the Admin user that is currently logged. An Admin user cannot edit or delete their own user.
manage user

  •   Edit - opens the User Permissions screen to manage and view permissions and groups associated with the user. See more here.
    NB! User-specific permissions can be assigned only for regular users. Admins are assigned all permissions not specific to Account Owner user type by default and the Edit option is greyed out.
  •  Delete - deletes the user. The option is greyed out for Admin users until admin access is revoked.
  •   More - enables to grant or revoke a user admin access. Additionally, if a user has enabled 2FA on their account, Account Owner and Admin users can disable it here in case of device loss or reset. See more information on 2FA here.

Grant/revoke admin access

Admin permissions cannot be edited separately and by default include access to all parts of the system except for the Subscription screen and certain parts of the General Settings > System tab reserved for the Account Owner.

  1. Go to Settings > User Management > Users.
  2. Find the required user in the list and click on the    More icon.
  3. Select Make admin to grant admin access or Remove as admin to revoke admin access.

add admin

Edit/view user permissions

User-specific permissions can be assigned only for regular users. Admins are assigned all permissions not specific to Account Owner user type by default and the Edit option is greyed out.

  1. Go to Settings > User Management > Users.
  2. Find the required user in the list and click on the Edit icon.
  3. The Edit User screen will be opened. Use the symbol to expand the screen.
  4. Go to the Permissions section. In this section:
    EditUserScreen
    • Specify the Location(s) that the user will have access to. You can give access to a specific location or to all locations by using the Select all option.
    • Go through all Permission tree tabs and tick all the needed permission nodes to add them to the user or check the list of user-specific and group permissions already assigned to the user in the Effective permissions tab. 
  5. Click Save.

A list of all permissions and their descriptions is available here.

Assign user to a group

Regular users can be assigned to Groups to ease permission-assignment for users with similar access needs. Details and instructions on adding and editing user groups are available here.

  1. Go to Settings > User Management > Users.
  2. Find the required user in the list and click on the  Edit icon.
  3. The Edit User screen will be opened.
  4. Open the Group membership drop-down.
  5. Select the needed group from the dropdown and click on the selection button.
  6. Click Save.

Alternatively, users can be assigned to groups via the Groups screen as described here.

Removing users

Only regular users can be deleted in the User Management screen. The Account Owner cannot be deleted, but the Account Owner's email address can be changed. Admin users can be deleted only after admin access is revoked.

Delete a regular user

  1. Go to Settings > User Management > Users.
  2. Find the required user in the list and click on the  Delete icon.
  3. Check and confirm the user email and click Delete user.

delete user

Delete Admin user

Admin users cannot be deleted before their admin rights are revoked.

  1. Go to Settings > User Management > Users.
  2. Find the required user in the list and click on the    More icon.
  3. Select Remove as admin to revoke admin access.
  4. Find the required user in the list and click on the  Delete icon.
  5. Check and confirm the user and click Delete user.

Change Account Owner

Account Owner user cannot be deleted nor any other user assigned as Account Owner in the User Management screen. However, the Account Owner can change their email address when logged into the system.

NB! In order to retain all tickets in Linnworks Support Center, the Account Owner needs to log in to the Support Center via Linnworks.net at least once prior to the email change.
  1. Make sure the email used for the new Account Owner login is not added as a user in Linnworks.net already. If a user with the needed email already exists, the user needs to be deleted first.
  2. From the header bar go to User Menu > Your Settings > Security > Email > Change.
  3. Enter the new email and current login password to change the login email.

User menu your settings

 

See more: