Cancelling shipping labels
This page will guide you through the different ways of cancelling shipping labels within Linnworks before filing your courier manifest at the end of the day.
Table of contents:
Concept and limitations
Cancelling a shipping label will remove an existing shipping label associated with an order from the respective manifest. If the label is cancelled before the manifest is produced, there will not be a charge for the label. For couriers using a credit balance (e.g. Stamps.com, Endicia), a refund request will be logged with each company when a label is cancelled.
- Label cancellation is not available for all courier integrations. Please check the list of supported features on the respective courier integration documentation main page.
- You can only cancel a label if the manifest has not been filed yet. If you need to cancel a label for an order in an already filed manifest, please contact the Courier directly.
- A label for a Processed Order can only be cancelled in the Shipping Manifests screen. After cancelling a label for a processed order, you will not be able to change the shipping service. To print a new label with a new service, please create a resend order and select the shipping service you wish to use.
- If the order has been deleted before the label was cancelled, you will receive an error: Unable to find order ID
To cancel a label for a deleted order, please contact our Technical Support.
- When using Royal Mail OBA or Tracked integrations, each user has a daily Cancellation Limit set which is individually calculated - normally it will be 15% of the number of labels printed per day.
This is a requirement set in place as per request from Royal Mail directly. If you need to cancel more labels due to some unexpected circumstances (incorrect service printed accidentally, etc), please contact our Technical Support.
Cancel via Open Orders screen
To cancel a shipping label directly from the Open Orders screen:
- Select the needed order(s).
- Actions or right-click > Shipping > Cancel label
Cancel via Shipping Manifest Screen
A shipping label for both an open and a processed order can be cancelled in the Shipping Manifests screen if the manifest has not been filed yet:
- Go to Shipping > Shipping Manifests.
- Find the needed shipping courier and click View on the respective line.
- Find the needed shipping service and click View on the respective line.
- Find the consignment you need to cancel and click Cancel on the respective line.
The Cancel button marks the consignment as Cancelled, meaning it will not be sent to the Shipping Vendor when the manifest is filed. It will still be shown under Filed Manifests with the cancelled tag.